top of page

OWA Embedded: Pluto's Gate Day 1 - Natalie Cage



Natalie Cage is sitting in a doctor’s office, Viola DeMarco’s sitting next to her.


Viola: You alright?


Natalie: Oh, you know, just another trip to the doctor’s. What else is new.


Natalie looks at the camera.


Natalie: So we’re just getting my arm checked out to see if it’s broken or not, I mean, Pluto’s Gate is out of the picture if that’s the case. Though I’m thinking positive because I’d be heartbroken if I missed being on that card. I haven’t put in all this work to sit out the first ever Odyssey supershow, you know?


The doctor comes in.


Doctor: I’ve got good news, Natalie! Your arm’s not broken, but it’s banged up, some minor ligature tears and a nasty sprain. But, if you rest up and do light physical activity with it, I’m happy for you to wrestle this weekend.


Natalie and Viola breathe a sigh of relief, before hugging each other. We cut to the two women walking the streets of Chicago, holding hands and clearly adoring each other’s company.


Natalie: It’s nice to just have some downtime between shows. I see myself as the standard bearer for a lot of these women. Like, Azumi is too, absolutely, but she’s something to aspire to, you know? She’s a veteran who finally got herself the big prize. I’m a newcomer who shot up the ranks. For other newcomers, other rookies, that’s inspiring. Anybody can come to Odyssey and say to themselves, “I’ll never be anybody here.” And I’ll take them aside and say, “Listen, I had my first wrestling match in August, and I’m about to challenge for a world title at the biggest show of the year. Never put a ceiling on yourself.” I look at this woman standing next to me, holding my hand, and I think about all the strong women that’ve inspired me to get to this point. Like, Pluto’s Gate is pretty fucking important.


Viola: It’s not like Natalie’s not earned her place. People can look at us and say, “Oh, she’s in a relationship with the boss.” Fact is, every opportunity she’s had, she’s took for herself. She’s won number one contendership matches, she won the Clash, I step back and let her do her thing. She’s even putting her title shot on the line in her matches just to prove herself.


Natalie: Eris is tough, I’m not gonna pretend that’s not the case. We’re gonna go out there and tear the house down, but I don’t plan on walking into Final Destination without my title shot.


The two women are now walking through the airport, stopping to talk with a few fans and take some selfies. Dulce Torres walks past.


Dulce: We’ve got a flight to catch, ladies!


Natalie: Champ’s here, fun’s over!


Dulce: Ready for round two?


Natalie playfully punches Dulce’s arm as the group head to departures.


Natalie: Never actually been to Canada before.


Viola: If you think Chicago’s cold…


Dulce: If our next show isn’t in Texas, I swear to God.


They link up with some other Odyssey roster members before going to board their plane. We cut to the Goddesses all on the plane, Natalie is sitting between Viola and Dulce.


Natalie: So we’ve got the flight, we’ve got media, then the show, then back home. I try to sleep on the plane but I never do. Saying that, I just had a match with my brother and feel like I’ve fallen off a building so...night night.


Natalie puts her hand over the camera as the feed cuts out.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page