top of page

OWA Embedded: Pluto's Gate Day 2 - Azumi Goto & Diantha Moreau



Azumi’s sitting the main office of the JET Dojo. Her title can be seen in the background in a trophy case, there’s a packed suitcase in the corner.


Azumi: I don’t think there’s really any question of my work ethic at this point, now it’s just a matter of skill. Two shows in one weekend, two different continents. I’m in constant pain and feel a lot of stress, but that’s the life of a wrestler and it’s the life of a champion. Pluto’s Gate is a big deal for me, Odyssey’s first show and I’m in the main event, it’s a big responsibility. I don’t want to let the brand down, and I don’t want to lose. Natalie said it herself over and over, we both have the same goal: preserve the main event of Final Destination and create a box office sensation. I don’t want to see Diantha Moreau’s face on that marquee, not next Natalie’s and not next Eris’s. That isn’t arrogance, it’s the desires of a champion. It’s every champion’s dream to defend their title on the big show, so I’m not about to let Diantha stand in the way. I’m as prepared as I’ll ever be. Unlike Natalie, I’m not enjoying my downtime because I don’t even know what downtime is. When she wins the title one day, she’ll realise how demanding it is to be on top. I can’t be loose and carefree, I have to be on high alert at all times.


We cut to the Raging Storm Gym, Diantha’s throwing heavy punches and kicks at a sparring partner in the ring, before taking them down to the ground and engaging ground and pound. Erica Ford’s hyping her up outside the ring.


Erica: THAT’S IT! GO ON! AZUMI GOTO’S GOT NOTHING ON YOU! NOTHING!


Diantha finishes off her partner and rolls out of the ring, breathing heavy.


Diantha: I was born ready, you hear! Born. Ready. This ain’t Diantha after being blinded by a cult. This ain’t the Forgotten Senshi. This is a woman who went an hour in the Clash, this is the Iron Lioness. Azumi Goto’s never faced a more focused, more determined version of me. I hesitate to even say version, because this is who I’ve always been. World title shots aren’t just given to anybody. I don’t care about being a “filler opponent” for the precious Azumi Goto. I care about taking what she has and going to Final Destination. I don’t care if I’m facing Natalie, I don’t care if it’s Eris, it doesn’t matter. I’m on another level right now. I’m operating at maximum capacity and I’m ready to take off some heads.


We cut back to Azumi, who’s coaching some trainee wrestlers.


Azumi: I don’t think Diantha realises what’s at stake for me here. I’m not just a wrestler, I’m not just representing a division, I’ve got a promotion to run, I’ve got to make sure the next generation of women in this business are ready. What kind of an example would I be setting if I lost to Diantha? What does that say about me? About JET? It’s my job to be the best, it’s not a mantra, it’s not a want, it’s an obligation. If I’m not the best, I’m not doing my job, Diantha’s driven by want, by lust. She wants the title for the sake of it. I’m far more concerned with proving to everybody who’s watching that I’m the gold standard, and that’s what I’ve been doing since I got here. Now, I’ve got to get back to this. You want more? Tune in on Saturday.


Cut back to Diantha, who’s grappling on some mats with another gym member and is absolutely dominating them. Erica’s watching with approval.


Erica: I don’t know if the world’s ready for what Diantha’s bringing to the table, I really don’t. I’ve always known she had potential, but I’m the first one to untap that. People will try to give Natalie Cage undue credit, that’s bullshit, to be honest. All Natalie did was full her head with shit that I had to flush out. I know Azumi better than anyone. I know how she thinks, how she fights, everything about her. She’s nothing special, she’s just in an advantageous position: nobody in OWA has been able to figure her out yet. If they just had the right gameplan, she’d he exposed. Diantha’s got that gameplan, she’s got the tools, she’s your next champ. Watch.


Diantha savagely submits the gym member as the feed cuts out.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page